ZENgagement: Cling Free or This Too Shall Pass

Be careful of clinging too tightly to fixed concepts of employee engagement.

Work, people, and relationships change.

Here is a short zen story on impermanence:

buddha-dog.jpg

A student went to his meditation teacher and said, “My meditation is horrible! I feel so distracted, my legs ache and I’m constantly falling asleep. It’s horrible!”

“It will pass,” the teacher said.

A week later, the student came back to his teacher.

“My meditation is wonderful! I feel so aware, so peaceful, so alive! It’s just wonderful!’

“It will pass,” the teacher said.

Photo Credit: Buddha dog by http://flickr.com/photos/superfantastic/50088733/

3 responses to “ZENgagement: Cling Free or This Too Shall Pass

  1. Stacy Doolittle

    Thanks for this post (and the Art of Time one as well)!!

    Stacy – engaged employee, Boeing

  2. Stacy,
    You are very welcome. Keep “flying” with engagement.
    David

  3. thanks for this post! my friend took this pic of my dog.

    i remember thinking that when this happened – http://flickr.com/photos/perfectoinsecto/274921648/in/set-309528/

    it will pass.

Leave a Reply

